Tips/Tricks for Building Packages from Instrument Drivers

amaggs145

I am somewhat new to using VIPM, thus far I have been enjoying it very much. It feels great to have a clean/streamlined way to create, organize, and manage all of our reusable VI's.

One of our primary uses of LabVIEW where I work is to communicate with test equipment. We have a good deal of instrument drivers that we have written and also instrument drivers that we have downloaded from various places, mostly from ni.com. These instrument drivers are mostly in the Plug & Play form or the Project Style form.

I am eager to create packages of these various instrument drivers. I was wondering if there is a how-to somewhere that may outline the "best practices" when converting these types of instrument drivers to packages.

Besides being concerned with a good overall/general way of doing this I do have a few specific questions.

If we consider the project style instrument drivers (I have attached one here) all of the VI's are in a .lvlib library. To be honest, I have found these libraries to be quite annoying sometimes, they seem to be very glitchy as far as their internal linkages and things of that sort, I can't recall any specific gripes but I do remember them costing me alot of time when trying to develop some drivers using the .lvlib. When converting this type of driver to a package is there any need or benefits at all to keeping the driver VI's and other files in a .lvlib? I know this is how NI recommends to build instrument drivers, I am thinking it is to prevent cross-linkage with other drivers that may have the same name VIs, but with VIPM we are able to add a prefix or suffix to every VI in our package, I am thinking/hoping this will be sufficient enough to get rid of that .lvlib. Any thouhgts?