Ideas after the first days of usage

Mellroth

I don't have time at the moment to add a topic for each feature/idea so I'll just add them as I have them listed.

Since I'm completely new to VIPM, I've probably missed how things should be done.

/J

General:

* Resent builds list bug? If I build a package from C:\labview-modules\A and then move the source folder so I build from C:\svn\modules\A. If I then build the package from the new folder the old build will still be seen in the "Recent" menu, but there is no way to distinguish my two builds from the different A folders. I would like to see the complete path if a build name exists twice, and I'd also like to be able to remove items from the recent list.

* In the advanced settings, there is a number of settings that are likely to be the same for all packages I'm building. As far I can tell these settings always defaults to VIPM defaults, some of the settings I'm talking about are;

- Namespace settings

- Build output folder (if changed to a central storage location)

- installation locations

- Descriptions (e.g. the URL field defaults to "
where I'd like to see my companys URL instead by default)

* I haven't found a way to increase the build number in the package name, so why is this number in the package name. If it is unused it should be stated somewhere.

* Currently VIPM skips folders starting with '_', but this is something that I'd expect to be a user setting. I might want to temporarily skip a folder without renaming it to '_folder name'. My suggestion would be to let the user select the name pattern to skip, and be able to skip more than one type of folder and even single files.

* In the main view I'd like to be able to see the source files in "file view", much like the project explorer do in LabVIEW. This view would allow me as a user to quickly locate any VIs outside of my source folder, and could also be used to set include/exclude on every file/folder.

Build: